Skip to content

Widening the genre net

September 8, 2009

So, the call for examples of scripts that are exemplars of the thriller genre has proved almost as popular as the original post about the zombie sub-genre. I widened the net to catch a few more fish, but it seems that neither of my readers dig thrillers either.

Not to be discouraged, I’ll make it easier on you both. In this latest (and possibility final) instalment of phase I of the genre cookbook, I’m opening the genre up to: films. Or, for the sake of clarity, motion pictures. Whatever you are thinking of, if it doesn’t have pictures, and they don’t move, it probably belongs to another category. And the pictures should probably be on a screen. So, a flick book, for example, wouldn’t count, but film somebody flicking a flick book, that probably would.

hollywood

So, t’interweb. Give me your finest examples of films, examples that really get to the core of what it means to be a film rather than, you know, something else, what films define the space that all future films in the film genre will be measured against.

It may be some time before I move on to phase II, I’ll be busy preparing for the Screenwriters Festival. Oh yeah, and the new baby.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. September 8, 2009 1:23 pm

    Soz, missed the beginning of this. What the hell are you talking about? Is it thriller SPECS you want and now examples of good scripts in PRODUCED thrillers? Am I close? Or not?

  2. terraling permalink*
    September 8, 2009 3:44 pm

    Hi Lucy

    Ermm, you and everyone else, although it was probably a bit much to think “If you ask it they will answer” when pretty much starting a blog from scratch.

    The idea was to do some work on genres, starting with a ‘discovery’ phase whereby I would nominate a genre and people would suggest films that were particularly good examples of the genre to study. Phase II would involve watching/reading some of the examples to identify the commonalities of the genre, what makes them what they are, and then phase III would have been some sort of putting it all together depending on what I found, incorporating other people’s work on genre.

    I started with the zombie sub-genre because, you know, everyone needs a zombie spec in the portfolio, progressed to thrillers, because that’s mostly what I’ve been working in so far, and today’s post was effectively a tongue-in-cheek calling time on the project, for now at least. I’ll just have to do the work myself rather than expecting Mr Internets to do it for me.

Leave a Reply

